Home‎ > ‎Announcements‎ > ‎

Michigan Boating Laws

posted Apr 27, 2013, 6:03 AM by Rlc SiteMgr   [ updated Jul 13, 2014, 2:04 PM ]
Information taken from Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws, Personal Watercraft Regulations.


  • Persons born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a personal watercraft unless they obtain a boating safety certificate.
  • 100 foot rule:  Stay 100 feet from a dock or raft, buoyed or occupied bathing or swimming area, a person in the water or on the water in a personal flotation device, an anchored or moored vessel, a vessel that is drifting or sitting dead in the water.
  • 150 foot rule: personal watercraft may not cross within 150 feet behind another vessel other than another PWC.
  • No wake zone: the slowest speed at which it is still possible to maintain steering and which does not create a wake---no wake zone exists within 100 feet of the shoreline, any watercraft, pier, person raft, swimming area and swimmers.
Remember: the owner of a watercraft is liable for any injury caused by a negligent operator.  It is your responsibility to know the laws and inform your family/guests.